You are not logged in. Click here to login

Welcome to the Catalysis Research for Polymer Electrolyte Fuel Cells Network!

CaRPE-FC is a Pan-Canadian academic network with active participation from 8 universities, 4 SMEs, an industry association and 3 government departments. The network focuses on developing fundamental understanding of topics in electrocatalysis and transport phenomena in catalyst layers for polymer electrolyte fuel cell, with an aim to lower the amount of platinum group metal (PGM) requirements. The network comprises of a multi-disciplinary team of 20 researchers from universities and government laboratory across Canada. The research team is working together in close collaboration with the participating industry partners.

University of British ColumbiaUniversity of VictoriaCanadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell AssociationBallard Power SystemsCanadian Light Source Inc.University of Western OntarioUniversity of WaterlooNational Research Council CanadaSimon Fraser UniversityUniversity of AlbertaHydrogenicsHyteonCanetiqueQueensGeneral MotorsMcMaster UniversityAutomotive Fuel Cell Cooperation


Mr. Nakkiran Arulmozhi, PhD Student
Prof. Brant Peppley, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical Engineering, Director, Queen's - RMC Fuel Cell Research Centre
Prof. Gregory Jerkiewicz, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Chemistry, Research Director
Prof. Jon Pharoh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Queen's University , Associate Director, Queens-RMC Fuel Cell Research Centre
Prof. Kunal Karan, Associate Professor
Director, Queen’s – RMC Fuel Cell Research Centre
Mr. Jake Garvey, MSc
Mr. Jutae Kim, PhD Student
Mr. Hyun Ki (Key) Shim, MASc


Dr. Joy Johnson
Vice President, Simon Fraser University
Prof. Michael Eikerling
Associate Professor, Simon Fraser University
Prof. Steven Holdcroft, Ph.D
Professor, Department of Chemistry, Joint Affiliation with the NRC Institute for Fuel Cell Innovation
Mr. David Novitski, PhD Candidate
Dr. Steven Rinaldo
Mr. Thomas Skalski, PhD student
Dr. Liya Wang
Mr. Fred Chin
Mr. Benjamin Britton, PhD Student
Ms. Heather Baroody, PhD Student


Prof. Nedjib (Ned) Djilali
Canada Research Chair in Energy Systems Design and Computational Modelling, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Mr. Razzi Movassaghi, PhD Student
Dr. Young Joon Choi
Dr. Jay Sui
Mr. Robert Nishida, PhD Student

38-3109 161 street
Surrey, BC V3S 2K4

Dr. Titichai Navessin
Managing Director, APC/NSERC Strategic Network: CaRPE-FC
Dr. Titichai Navessin


Dr. Simon Liu, PhD
Group Leader
Dr. Zhong Xie
Research Officer, EME
Dr. Jiujun Zhang, Ph.D.
Senior Research Officer, EME
Dr. Michel Dumoulin
General Manager, Automotive and Surface Transportation
Dr. François Girard, Ph. D.
Thrust Leader - Fuel Cell Manufacturing, Vehicle Propulsion Technologies Program


Prof. Zhongwei Chen
Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Advanced Materials for Clean Energy
Prof. Xianguo Li
Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Division Chair for the Advanced Energy System technical division, Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Mr. Drew Higgins, PhD Candidate
Miss Sogol Roohparvarzadeh, MASc student.
Miss Yinqi Shen, PhD Student
Mr. Grant Unsworth
Miss Jingyi Wang, PhD Student
Mrs. Hadis Zarrin, PhD Candidate
Mr. Jian Zhao, PhD Student

1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON L8S 4L8

Prof. Gillian Goward, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Prof. Adam Hitchcock
Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Member of the Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research at McMaster University, North American Editor of the Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena
Prof. Gianluigi Botton, Ph.D.
Professor Materials Science and Engineering
Miss Nicole De Almeida, PhD Student
Miss Lis Melo, MSc
Mr. Sagar Prabhudev, PhD Student
Doctoral Student, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, McMaster University
Miss Zhisheng Qin, PhD Student
Ms. Samantha Stambula, PhD Candidate
Dr. Scott M. Rosendahl, Ph.D.


Prof. Walter Merida, B.Sc., M.A.Sc, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Prof. David Wilkinson
Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Canada Research Chair
Miss Jeanette Leeuwner, PhD Student
Mr. Devin Todd, PhD Candidate
Amin Nouri, PhD Student


Prof. David Mitlin
Professor, Dept. of chemical and Materials Engineering
Prof. Marc Secanell
Assistant Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
Mr. Madhur Bhaiya, MSc
Mr. Shantanu Shukla, PhD student
Dr. XueHai Tan
Mr. Philip Wardlaw, MSc Student


Prof. Xueliang (Andy) Sun, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
Canada Research Chair in Nanomaterials and Clean energy
Dr. Mohammad Norouzi Banis, PDF


Mr. Eric Denhoff
President and CEO

9000 Glenlyon Parkway
Burnaby, BC V5J 5J8

Mr. Gregory Frenette
Director of Research
Dr. Juergen Stumper, Dr. rer. nat.
Manager Structure, Properties & Performance Research
Dr. Devproshad K. Paul
Mrs. Wendy Lee, Catalyst Research Team Lead
Dr. Harmeet Chhina
Andreas Putz, Research Scientist
Rajeev Vohra
Dr. Prasanna Mani
Mike Sexsmith, MASc. P.Eng.


Dr. Christopher Guzy
Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
Dr. Shanna Knights, P.Eng., M.A.Sc.
Manager, Research
Dr. Siyu Ye
Principal Research Scientist
Mr. Kailyn Domican
Dr. Mauricio Blanco
Research Engineer, Strategic Technology Planner


Mr. Jeffery Nerenberg
Senior Manager, Research Partnerships Directorate
Dr. John Wood, P.Eng, SAE
Executive Director

South Kensington Campus
Exhibition Rd.
United Kingdom

Prof. Anthony Kurcenak, B.Sc., Ph.D,. CChem. MRSC
Professor of Physical Chemistry


Prof. Goran Lindbergh

220 Admiral Boulevard
Mississauga, ON L5T 2N6

Dr. R. M. Abouatallah
Dr. David Frank

Vancouver, BC V8K2W3

Mr. Jean Guy Chouinard



How theory and simulation can drive fuel cell...


Theory of electrostatic phenomena in water-filled Pt nanopores


Time-Dependent Mass Transport for O2 Reduction at the
Pt | Perfluorosulfonic Acid Ionomer Interface